Advertisement Picture

Advertisement Picture

Advertisement Picture

Awards and Competitions


We offer competitions periodically in both the print edition and online on this page. To enter any online competitions that appear below, click on 'More information' and complete the short form.

Make sure you opt in to receive our great eNewsletters, which include competition updates as well as what's new on the website, including features, reviews, new photos and special offers.

The Birdwatch ID photo guide

We run mystery bird quizzes to accompany our comprehensive ID photo guides. Click here to find the identity of the mystery bird and the winner's name for the last three quizzes.

Tringa ID quiz

Frontiers in Birding by Martin Garner and friends.Closing Date: 12 Aug 2014

AUTUMN is here, and so are waders. You’re way out west, hoping to find something interesting, and stop to check some flooded fields near the coast. A scan seems to reveal little more than the expected species at this time of year, but then, as if from nowhere, you notice an elegant Tringa at the back of the field. The legs are partly obscured, and you trawl your memory for recollections of the differences between the potential candidates. Can you successfully work out which species it is?

Once you’ve digested Dominic Mitchell’s expert advice in the August ID photo guide to Wood Sandpiper, Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs and Greenshank (buy your August issue here) and have worked out the answer, let us know the identity of this mystery bird. The first randomly chosen reader with the correct answer will win a copy of Frontiers in Birding by Martin Garner and friends (BirdGuides).

More Information

Win one of five Hawke Frontier binoculars!

Closing Date: 31 Aug 2014

Win one of five Hawke Frontier binoculars worth £220 each!

More Information

Birdwatch Artist of the Year Award

This prestigious award, held in association with the Society of Wildlife Artists (SWLA) and Swarovski Optik, is given to the artist whose work at the SWLA’s annual exhibition The Natural Eye is considered to be the most outstanding. Submissions must be made in accordance with the criteria outlined by the SWLA. The award judges are Dominic Mitchell (Managing Editor, Birdwatch), Bruce Pearson (SWLA), Chris Rose (SWLA), Andrew Stock (SWLA) and Peter Antoniou (Managing Director, Swarovski Optik UK). The winner is announced at the preview of The Natural Eye, which currently takes place in late October, and coverage appears in Birdwatch in the following issue (usually the December edition, published November). The prize is Swarovski optical equipment of the winner’s choice (terms and conditions apply) and a three-year subscription to Birdwatch magazine.

2013 winner

Short-eared Owl 1 by Nik Pollard

Short-eared Owl 1
By Nik Pollard

Click on the picture to the left to see bigger versions of the artworks

Read the news story

Birdwatch Bird Book of the Year

This annual award recognises excellence in ornithological publishing by nominating as its winner the most original, important or popular book on birds published during the year. Shortlisted titles chosen by the Birdwatch editorial team range from field guides and monographs to atlases and photographic works; from this shortlist Managing Editor Dominic Mitchell selects the winning title. Details of the winner and any highly commended entries are featured in Birdwatch each year in the February edition (published January).

2013 winner

Cuckoos of the World by Johannes Erritzeo, Frederick P Brammer, Richard A Fuller and Clive F Mann

Bird Atlas 2007-11
By Dawn Balmer, Simon Gillings, Brian Caffrey, Bob Swann, Iain Downie and Rob Fuller
Published by BTO Books, Thetford

Dominic Mitchell on why this book is a worthy winner
Read David Callahan's review
Buy the book